• The Publishing Post

Anticipated Reads: November

By Genevieve Bernard, Ellie Gibbs, Alfie Kimmins, Georgia Wells, Sarah Ernestine and Meg Jones


Just Haven’t Met You Yet by Sophie Cousens

9 November, Cornerstone


From the New York Times bestselling author of This Time Next Year comes this year’s feel-good love story that’s sure to warm your winter evenings as the nights draw in and the weather gets colder. In this heart-warming romcom, we meet unlucky-in-love Laura who has built her entire career out of interviewing people about their own real-life love stories. When Laura picks up the wrong suitcase at the airport, she feel perhaps it is destiny writing her very own serendipitous meet-cute. Determined not to let a chance at love pass her by, Laura sets her heart on tracking down the owner of the suitcase. However, the course of true love never really does run smooth and fate seems to have other ideas.


– Genevieve


The Nightland Express by J. M. Lee

16 November, Erewhon Books


The Nightland Express is a young adult fantasy novel following the tale of Jessamine Murphy who, looking for money so that she will be able to feed her pregnant sister and the soon-to-be-born baby, signs up for the ‘Pony Express.’ There is a catch, however: the recruitment poster states it requests orphans, prompting Jessamine to cut her hair and go undercover as a male, Jesse. Through the job she meets Ben Foley, who she becomes partners with for the mission. Together they encounter portals that carry them for miles and strange creatures with glowing eyes. Though the mission is altogether more than they expected, they must work to find themselves and navigate a mission that uncovers a second magical realm...


– Ellie


Go Tell the Bees that I Am Gone by Diana Gabaldon

23 November, Cornerstone


Go Tell the Bees that I Am Gone is set on the eve of the American Revolution. The ninth book in the bestselling and eminent Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon is a 928-page story of war, love, loyalty and family. Jamie and Claire have only just found each other again after twenty years apart and are reconnecting with their daughter, now an adult living with her husband and children on Fraser’s Ridge. They finally feel like they might have found peace. However, after narrowly escaping the twentieth-century, they find that the eighteenth presents its own set of challenges. With war, disease and starvation rife, Jamie and Claire start to wonder if this time they’re any safer. And now they have more to lose than ever…


– Alfie


The Disappearing Act by Catherine Steadman

25 November, Simon & Schuster LTD


In LA, where the borders of fantasy and reality are blurred, how can you ever be sure what is real? In Catherine Steadman’s new novel, The Disappearing Act, aspiring actress Mia Eliot finds herself lost within the illusion of the Hollywood lights. A Londoner hoping to further her acting career, Mia moves to LA for the pilot season of a new TV show. She meets the mysterious Emily at an audition when a simple favour amongst new friends takes an unexpectedly dark turn. Emily goes missing with Mia being the last person to

see her. Whilst caught up in the confusion of her missing acquaintance, a woman she doesn’t recognise turns up claiming to be Emily. Mia is pulled through the chaotic LA scene with gaslighting and uncertainty at every turn as she begins to doubt her own sanity and what she believes is the truth. Is Emily missing, or did she ever really exist?


– Georgia


The Grimrose Girls by Laura Pohl

26 November, Sourcebooks Fire


Author Laura Pohl, whose debut novel Last 8 won the International Latino Book Awards, is back this Autumn with the first instalment in a chilling new series, The Grimrose Girls. Three friends, Ella, Yuki, and Rory, become the talk of the school at Grimrose Académie when their best friend dies unexpectedly. Officially, Ariane’s death is ruled a suicide, but the three friends believe there is more to the story. When a new roommate arrives to replace Ariane, things at Grimrose Académie take a dark turn. Ariane wasn’t the first student to die. When ancient curses and a haunted past begin to resurface, the Grimrose girls must band together to fight for their lives. This new dark academia, LGBTQ+ novel is the perfect fix for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Once Upon a Time.


– Sarah


Hello, Transcriber by Hannah Morrissey

30 November, Minotaur Books


Inspired by her work as a police transcriber, Hello, Transcriber is Hannah Morrissey’s explosive and gut-wrenching debut mystery. Hazel Greenlee descends into chaos and corruption as a struggling female police transcriber desperate to catch a break. Writing a bestseller seems like her ticket out of Wisconsin, but inspiration is lacking. That is until her neighbour divulges a murderous secret: an overdose victim could be connected to an infamous drug dealer, Candy Man, leading Hazel to a covert police operation and a slow-growing obsession with Detective Nikolai Kole. As the plot thickens, Hazel realises she’s willing to sacrifice everything—her career, relationship, even her life—for the story.


– Meg


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All