top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Publishing Post

Children’s Books You Need to Read in 2024

By Holly Allwright, Ekta Rajagopalan and Emma Rogers

 

It’s the start of a new year, which means lots of new releases in the children’s book market to look forward to. From picture books for the little ones in your life to thrilling young adult novels, we’ve selected a few of the books we’re most looking forward to reading this year.

 

Picture Books

 

Grey by Laura Dockrill and illustrated by Lauren Child

 

Two of the most beloved voices in children’s literature come together for this picture book about feelings and acceptance. Despite the orange balloon, the yellow sun and the green trees, one child still feels grey. That is, until a hand reaches out to share some words of kindness, and the child begins to see the warmth in colour again. They learn they will be loved whether they feel grey or as colourful as the rainbow. Publishing in May 2024, this book will bring comfort to readers of all ages and help little ones to better understand their feelings.

 

The Crayons Love our Planet by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers

 

The Day the Crayons Quit was a number one New York Times Bestselling book, and now the crayons are back! Set to be released in February, this heart-warming story features the crayons highlighting their favourite things about our planet. From the blue of the oceans to the green of the trees, all of the colours find something to be proud of and love. This book will be released in time for Earth Day and is the perfect introduction to the beauty of our environment for young children. 

 

Middle Grade

 

The Golden Linnet (Evenfall) by Alexander Armstrong

 

Actor and presenter Alexander Armstrong makes his children’s debut with The Golden Linnet in September 2024! Described as a modern classic, the book tells the story of Sam, a thirteen-year-old boy who discovers he is part of an ancient, secret society: an order of quiet heroes who protect the world, known as The Order of the Evening. Several years ago, the order was wiped out, but now it rises again with the threat of an old enemy. Enter Sam: bequeathed with the mysterious seal of the Golden Linnet, he must undertake long journeys, uncover family secrets and learn to unlock his powers to stop The Order of the Evening’s magic from falling into the wrong hands.

 

Finding Hope (Volume 1) (A Whistledown Farm Adventure) by Nicola Baker

 

When ten-year-old Ava moves to Whistledown Farm while her parents are working abroad, she must swap city life for mud, wellies and animals. But as one catastrophe follows another, will Ava learn to love life on the farm and find hope in nature? This is the first book from Nicola Baker, star of Our Farm in the Dales. Growing up, Nicola spent hours with her nose stuck in a book or filling notebooks with stories and sketches. After a successful career as a physiotherapist and raising two children, she’s now come full circle and is writing again. Finding Hope will be available on 29 February 2024.

 

Young Adult

 

The Reappearance of Rachel Price by Holly Jackson

 

After the success of her trilogy, A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder and standalone novel, Five Survive, Holly Jackson is back with a brand new thriller for teens and young adults. The Reappearance of Rachel Price, which is being published by HarperCollins on 2 April 2024, follows the story of Bel, an eighteen-year-old girl whose mother vanished sixteen years ago. When the family agree to take part in a true crime documentary, the case is dragged up from the past, and Bel cannot wait for life to go back to normal once filming ends –- that is, until her mother reappears. If you are looking for a fast-paced thriller to get sucked into, this is the book to read in 2024!


To Gaze Upon Wicked Gods by Molly X. Chang

 

From debut author Molly X. Chang comes the first in a new series of YA fantasy novels focusing on anti-colonialist narratives in the fictional land of Er-Lang. When our protagonist Ruying’s powers are discovered by the ruling Romans she fears they will turn her into a perfect assassin and must make a difficult choice. Keep the peace that keeps the people subjugated or save her family and go against her country. This novel is set to be released in April of 2024 and is perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Chloe Gong.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page