top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Publishing Post

Christmas Stocking Stuffers

By Holly Allwright, Rosie Pinder and Ekta Rajagopalan

 

Father Christmas is well known for being a book lover (ask the elves!). So, expect lots of lovely festive books to appear in stockings this Christmas Day. We’ve made a list of some of our festive favourites that we’d be more than happy to unwrap on the big day. These are perfect to read with little ones whilst munching on a mince pie by the fire!

 

The Christmas Tree Fairy by Marion Rose


One dark Christmas night, Meredith McCauley hears a cry from the top of her Christmas tree and embarks on a magical adventure to help the fairy stuck at the top. On her way, she meets other creatures on the tree, each with their own plight such as a shepherd and a reindeer. This charming story is beautifully illustrated by Jason Cockcroft and conjures up an incredibly nostalgic atmosphere which is sure to transport adults back to the Christmas magic of childhood. Melodic and charming, the combination of the picturesque illustrations and the merry narrative make this a perfect stocking filler or Christmas Eve story for your little ones.

 

The Christmas Bear by Ian Whybrow and Axel Scheffler


From the illustrator of The Gruffalo, comes this charming interactive story about a bear who is left behind in Santa’s workshop and is chasing behind the sleigh so he can reach Tom’s house in time for Christmas Day. Full of the same rhymes and jokes as The Gruffalo but with the addition of many interactive sections to keep little minds invested in the action, this story is a sure-fire hit. The book almost acts as a puzzle with different jokes and parts of the story hidden under flaps, nestled within presents or even behind doors!

 

A Christmasaurus Carol by Tom Fletcher and Shane Devries


In this latest title in Tom Fletcher’s festive middle-grade series, the Christmasaurus returns for a high-stakes adventure. An old copy of A Christmas Carol releases Scrooge from its pages and he is determined to ruin Christmas for everyone. Can William, Santa and the magical Christmasaurus save the day and return Scrooge to the pages of the book before he does too much damage? This is a fun-filled festive read, made even better by the inclusion of Shane Devries’ fantastic illustrations.

 

The Snowman Audiobook, Tonies


It’s not just physical books that make great literary stocking fillers, Christmas audiobooks are wonderful festive fun too. The Tonies range are particularly great gifts and what better choice than a classic snowy tale: The Snowman! Voiced by Matthew Macfadyen and Benedict Cumberbatch, this is a very atmospheric listen following a boy and his snowman who comes to life and shows him his magical world.

 

Santa's Marvellous Mechanical Workshop by Vashti Hardy and Katie Cottle


Perfect for fans of The Polar Express, this beautifully illustrated book written by Vashti Hardy and illustrated by Katie Cottle is a celebration of creativity and upcycling sprinkled with Christmas magic. It’s Christmas Eve at Lily’s new house but she misses her old house. She is suddenly whisked away to the North Pole where she learns that with a dash of imagination, she can make anything. A perfect book for young ones who love to build and invent things and we all love a book that teaches our little ones about upcycling in a festive way.

 

Luna Loves Christmas by Joseph Coelho and Fiona Lumbers


This is the fourth book in the series. It celebrates separated families at Christmas time and shows the power of giving to bring people together. Luna loves her Christmas, sometimes at her Mum’s and sometimes at her Dad’s. She gets two trees, two dinners and two advent calendars to open. This Christmas will be slightly different as the whole family will be volunteering at the community Christmas dinner, giving back to the community. And isn’t giving back what the holiday season is all about?

 

The Boy Who Brought the Snow by Hollie Hughes and Anna Wilson


In the heart of a great city lives a little boy called Quinn without a home. But when he finds a magical snow globe, everything begins to change. When the snow falls, it brings magic and kindness with it into the world. This is a beautiful wintry story about kindness, written by Hollie Hughes and illustrated by Anna Wilson, that is bound to warm your child’s heart. A perfect book to cuddle up and read with your child this festive season.

 

We love the festive season! There’s magic, kindness and a spirit of togetherness in the air made more beautiful with a cup of hot chocolate. Make the spirit of Christmas even more magical for your children with these books that are special recommendations from your friendly Santa’s elves.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page