top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Publishing Post

Latest Acquisitions & Adaptations

By Georgie Cutler, Eva Lee, Emma Leask, Molly Pearce and Niamh Parr


Acquisition News


Harlow’s middle-grade debut acquired by Puffin


Clare Harlow’s first novel, a dark fantasy in the middle-grade range, has been bought by Puffin in an impressive six-figure deal. Natalie Doherty, Editorial Director at Puffin, acquired world rights to the “exceptional” novel (The Bookseller) Tidemagic: The Many Faces of Ista Flit, which is currently expected to be published February 2024. Two more books in the series were acquired in the deal, as well as dramatization and merchandise rights. The book is pitched as being perfect for fans of Vashti Hardy (Brightstorm series, Wildspark and Crowfall) and Hana Tooke (The Unadoptables and Midnighters) – a magical story in a dark and mysterious world full of monsters, navigated by a unique main character. We’re excited to see a new middle-grade fantasy series enter the literary world and can’t wait to see this story come to life with future adaptations!


Catherine Yu’s Frankenstein retelling acquired by Page Street


Page Street has acquired Catherine Yu’s newest novel Helga – a unique and bewitching retelling of gothic classic Frankenstein, pitched as a gender-bent reboot fusing comedy with horror. Out of the novel’s chaos, expect body parts, punk music and a whole lot of rebellion. Helga follows its eponymous teenage character as she wakes up in the custody of her scientist father. When he leaves on a business trip, Helga takes the golden opportunity to escape the lab and explore the volcanic island she lives on. Helga takes to town in search of all things lively – partying, relationships, food and perhaps even a little scientific creation of her own. Tamara Grasty acquired the rights for Page Street in a two-book deal, with Erin Clyburn at Howland Literary conducting the deal for world English rights. Helga is set to be published in spring 2024.


Olivia A. Cole’s Novel-in-Verse bought by Labyrinth Road


In an exclusive submission, Olivia A. Cole’s newest novel Ariel Crashes a Train has been bought by Labyrinth Road, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books. The book will be a YA novel-in-verse broaching the topics of OCD and intrusive thoughts, as well as gender-identity, sexuality and race. It promises to be poignant and moving, but also optimistic. Cole has also written the powerful YA novel Dear Medusa which looks at sexual abuse from the vantage point of fourth-wave feminism. Liesa Abrams, Vice President and Editor-in-Chief of Labyrinth Road, bought the exclusive submission and Patrice Caldwell at New Leaf Literary & Media sold the world English rights. Ariel Crashes a Train is set to be published in spring 2024.


From Book to Screen


What to Watch?


Wolf Pack on Paramount+


The upcoming supernatural series, based on the novel of the same name by Edo van Belkom, is set to be directed by Teen Wolf director Jeff Davis. Not to be confused with his previous work, Wolf Pack follows a group of teenagers who, in the midst of a raging Californian wildfire, are bitten by a bizarre creature as it causes chaos across Los Angeles. The series follows this group of individuals as they come together to discover the secrets between them and reveals their identities and their histories as they uncover this mystery. The main cast will feature Sarah Michelle Gellar, Armani Jackson, Rodrigo Santoro, Bella Shepard, Chloe Rose Robertson and Tyler Lawrence Gray. Wolf Pack is now airing on Paramount+.


Knock At The Cabin: a horror novel adaptation


Paul G. Tremblay's 2018 horror novel Cabin at the End of the World has been adapted into an apocalyptic, psychological mystery set to be released on the 03 February 2023. The anticipated film, titled Knock at the Cabin, stars several renowned actors such as Johnathon Groff (Mindhunter and Hamilton) and Dave Bautista (Guardians of the Galaxy and Army of the Dead) as leading roles, with Rupert Grint (Harry Potter and Sick Note) as supporting role. The film follows a gay couple and their daughter who are taken hostage whilst on holiday at a cabin in the woods. They must make a crucial decision that could change the fate the world in the face of an impending apocalypse. The film is directed by acclaimed director M. Night Shyamalan, known for The Sixth Sense and Split. The film is currently out in cinemas across the UK.


In the Works


Trailer released for Daisy Jones & The Six


Amazon Prime has released a glimpse of its new ten-part series based on the novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid. The narrative follows the breakdown of a successful band from the seventies. Decades later, the members have agreed to tell all on their tumultuous life together. Riley Keough stars as the titular role and is joined by the likes of Sam Claflin, Camila Morrone, Will Harrison, Suki Waterhouse and Josh Whitehouse. You can stream the first episode on Amazon Prime from 3 March 2023.

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page