top of page
  • The Publishing Post

Upcoming Publishing Events

By Maria Sadek and Erin Evett


In Conversation with Susan Stokes-Chapman

Waterstones, Lichfield

20 January, 5:00 p.m.


Join the team at Waterstones in Lichfield as they celebrate the paperback release of Susan Stokes-Chapman’s Pandora. The novel is a must-read for any historical fiction and Greek mythology lovers as it cleverly combines both genres to create a masterful story about a young artisan and an antiquarian scholar who unearth a tempting, yet incredibly dangerous vase in Georgian England. The event features both an author talk and a book signing. For more information, click here.


United Nations in Conversation with Scarlett V Clark

Waterstones, London – Tottenham Court Road

21 January, 2:00 p.m.


Scarlett V Clark will be taking part in a conversation and Q&A about her book, The Smart Girls Handbook, which has been named the UN Woman’s book of the month. Celebrating womanhood, the book presents advice to those who are struggling with their inner critic, helping inspire them to find their passion, voice and change the world. Scarlett will also be discussing the work she has been doing in her mission to obtain equality for all and uphold women’s human rights. For more information and ticket prices, click here.


Creative Writing Workshop: The Mays

Waterstones, Cambridge

24 January, 6:00-7.15 p.m.


Members of the editorial team at The Mays, an annually published literary anthology comprised of work from students of Oxford and Cambridge, will be hosting a creative writing workshop this January. The Mays features poetry, short stories, art, and photography, so if you are currently working on any projects related to these fields and would like advice on them, bring them along – the editorial team are there to help! For more information, click here.


Meet the Author with Rosie Andrews

Waterstones, Bury St Edmunds – Butter Market

24 January, 6:30–7:30 p.m.


Author Rosie Andrews will be discussing her novel TheLeviathan with the team at Waterstones in Bury St Edmunds, exploring what has made it so popular. The Leviathan is a historical mystery set in the English Civil War, following reluctant soldier Thomas Treadwater as he is dragged back to his family home, only to discover accusations of witchcraft and a dark secret. For more information, click here.


Colin Grant & Michael Rosen: I’m Black So You Don’t Have to Be

London Review Bookshop, Holborn

26 January, 7:00 p.m.


Join Colin Grant, Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and author of Homecoming: Voices of the Windrush Generation, as he discusses his new memoir I’m Black So You Don’t Have to Be with poet, author and activist Michael Rosen. This important discussion will illuminate Grant’s experience growing up in Britain with Jamaican parents, raising compelling arguments and anecdotes about his experience as a member of the second generation. Click here to find out more information and to book your tickets.


Love, Leda: Launch Night

Charing Cross, London

26 January 6:30 p.m.


Join Foyles at the opening night of their “Leda in Soho” exhibition in celebration of the life of Mark Hyatt, author of Love, Leda. The evening will celebrate the launch of this never-before-published queer novel which is set in working-class Soho during the 1960s. The exhibition, which runs until 9 March, is curated by Luke Roberts and maps the life of Mark Hyatt in 1960s London. Tickets to this exciting launch night are only £14 and include a copy of Love, Leda, as well as a limited-edition map which illustrates Hyatt’s journey through the streets of Soho. For more information and to book your tickets, click here.


An evening with Charlotte Vassell: The Other Half

Waterstones, Glasgow

26 January 7:00 p.m.


Hosted by Waterstones Glasgow, author Charlotte Vassell will be discussing her debut novel The Other Half. A murder-mystery perfect for fans of Rian Johnson’s Knives Out films, the book focuses on the death of a man at his thirtieth birthday party, surrounded only by his closest friends and confidantes. As well as introducing a wonderfully talented new author, the event will also be a fantastic opportunity to learn more about what makes a great crime novel and how to keep readers on the edge. For more information, click here.

0 comments
bottom of page