• The Publishing Post

Anticipated Reads: Books You Will Love

By Anna Heywood, Alfie Kimmins, Sarah Ernestine, Meg Jones and Georgia Wells


House of Sky and Breath by Sarah J Mass

15 February, Bloomsbury Publishing PLC


In this highly anticipated sequel to Sarah J Mass’s bestseller House of Earth and Blood, we are reunited with Bryce Quinlan and Hunt Athalar as they face yet another battle in their quest for peace. After saving Crescent City, the Asteri appear to be keeping their side of the bargain; to leave Bryce and Hunt in peace. However, behind the scenes, the power held by the rulers is growing. Now, Bryce and Hunt must decide whether to stay quiet or to fight alongside the rebels and free those who have been oppressed. In this action-packed and thrilling sequel, we find a world on the verge of destruction with only a handful of people willing to sacrifice anything to save it.


The Dictator’s Wife by Freya Berry

17 February, Headline Publishing Group


In her debut novel, Freya Berry’s writing is described as perceptive and courageous. The Dictator’s Wife is a deconstruction of tyranny and greed which asks searching questions about the nature of truth, as a dictator's spouse goes on trial accused of colluding in his crimes. The gorgeous, mysterious wife of a feared dictator stands trial for her late husband's crimes against the people. She thinks herself innocent, and that after the trial the world will finally know the truth. But whose?


Visceral and thought-provoking, poignant and heart-breaking, The Dictator's Wife is bound to be one of the most darkly gripping debuts of the year.


League of Liars by Astrid Scholte

22 February, Penguin Random House


Astrid Scholte, author of The Vanishing Deep and Four Dead Queens, has written a new YA heist novel: League of Liars. When four teens are discovered practicing magic illegally and are charged with murder, they must work together to plan an escape. Cayder Broduck has devoted his life to the prosecution of illegal magic users after the tragic death of his mother. He believes that magic always comes at a price. Cayder takes an apprenticeship under a renowned public defender, but when he meets the three young criminals he is assigned to defend, the lines of right and wrong begin to blur. This dark and intriguing story is riddled with illusion, mystery, danger and magic.


Delilah Green Doesn’t Care by Ashley Herring Blake

22 February, Berkley


Ashley Herring Blake’s adult debut follows Delilah, whose life is unfolding in New York exactly as she planned it — she is never lonely, thanks to a constant stream of beautiful women, and enjoys a successful career in photography. Delilah thinks she has put her past behind her until her stepsister forces her back to their hometown of Bright Falls to photograph her upcoming wedding. Delilah may be there under sufferance, but she’s still looking for a good time, and she decides to test her relationship with single mum, Claire, who finds herself captivated, despite herself, by Delilah’s advances. Delilah and Claire become entangled together during a plot to save Astrid from her horrible fiancé and are unsure whether to let go. A rom-com to fall in love with; perfect for fans of Casey Mcquiston and Alexandria Bellefleur.


Gallant by V. E. Schwab

1 March, Titan Books Ltd.


By the time sixteen-year-old Olivia Prior comes to the end of her time at Merilance School for Girls, three things are already missing from her life: her mother, her father and her voice. The latter she was born without, and as for her father, he gradually disappeared over time. Her mother vanished entirely, quite suddenly. During the final weeks at her school, she receives a letter from her late uncle, inviting her to a place called Gallant. The letter is dated from several years back, and the place in question is an abandoned estate, save for the servants. With nowhere else to go, Olivia is permitted to stay, but she must follow two steadfast rules: she must not leave the house after dusk and must always remain on the right side of the wall. But Olivia feels a call from the other side of the wall running through her blood. Will she be able to resist the urge to break the rules?



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All