top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Publishing Post

Latest Acquisitions & Adaptations

By Georgie Cutler, Eva Lee, Emma Leask, Molly Pearce and Niamh Parr


Acquisition News


Song’s Mulan-Inspired Adult Fantasy Duology Bought by Ace


A new adult fantasy duology by author K. X. Song has been bought by Anne Sowards at Ace Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House, in a deal for North American rights handled by Peter Knapp at Park & Fine Literary. The duology will be a spin on the popular Chinese folktale of Mulan and is inspired by the classic historical novel Romance of the Three Kingdoms. The story follows principal character Meilin, in the fantasy setting of the Three Kingdoms, as she tries to take her destiny into her own hands by enlisting in the imperial army in order to avoid the plan of her opium-addicted father to marry her off to an unsavoury husband. Meilin’s journey with the army soon becomes complicated as she receives troubling visions from a mysterious dragon and struggles with keeping her true identity a secret, especially in the face of her growing feelings for a certain prince leading her battalion. The first book in the duology will be called The Night Ends With Fire, with Ace currently set to publish it in the summer of 2024.


Scholastic Acquires McGuiness’s Debut Novel


Jay McGuiness, star of The Wanted and several stage musicals, including Big and Rip it Up, is to be published by Scholastic with his debut novel Blood Flowers. Publisher Lauren Fortune acquired world rights from Gleam Futures. Pitched as the perfect book for fans of The Atlas Six and The Hunger Games, Blood Flowers is a fantasy romance in the YA age range, set in a dystopian world where poverty, addiction and classism are just some of the struggles the protagonist, Bear, must face. He’s thrust into the unknown when he finds himself among the most elite in society, and he soon discovers that those in power will sacrifice anything to hold on to their positions. Bear becomes entangled with the Overlord’s daughter, putting himself in a dangerous position as an imposter in this terrifying new world he has to navigate. With magic and witchcraft also facing Bear, this book promises to be a thrilling read that will keep readers itching to keep turning the page. Look out for this one to be hitting the shelves in February 2024.


From Book to Screen


What to Watch?


Leave the World Behind Adaptation Coming to Netflix


Another exciting mystery adaptation is coming to Netflix – Leave the World Behind, based on Rumaan Alam’s novel of the same name, will be hitting the screens at the end of 2023. It is set to star Julia Roberts, Ethan Hawke, Mahershala Ali and Myha'la Herrold as the leading couples. The film follows Amanda and Clay as they head out to a remote area of Long Island for a vacation – a quiet break away from New York City to spend quality time with their teenage son and daughter. But a late-night knock on the door breaks their happy moments when an older Black couple, who claim to own their rental home, arrive, fleeing a blackout in the city. With TV, internet and phone signals all down, there’s no way of finding out what has happened. Cultural differences create tension between the couples, and alarming situations arise every second. Leave the World Behind is scheduled to be released in December 2023.


Secret Invasion Now on Disney+


The most recent Marvel Cinematic Universe TV show has arrived, following beloved hero Nick Fury and his allies as they embark on a mission to uncover a conspiracy and save Earth from desolation. As the enemy, alien shapeshifters known as the Skrulls, prepare to dominate and demolish the very structure of humanity, it is up to Nick Fury, former director of the group S.H.I.E.L.D., to stop them. The mission reveals as much about the enemy as it does about Fury himself. Secret Invasion stars renowned actor Samuel L. Jackson, as well as Ben Mendelsohn and Cobie Smulders. The first episode premiered on Disney+ on 21 June and is a thrill ride from start to finish.


In the Works


A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder Cast Revealed


Based on the bestselling novels by Holly Jackson, A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder is headed to BBC Three. It follows Pip Fitz-Amobi, a student investigating the closed case of murdered schoolgirl Andie Bell for her school project. When she suspects Sal Singh might not be guilty of the crime, she enlists the help of his brother Ravi to prove his innocence. Emma Myers (Wednesday) and Zain Iqbal have just been attached to the project as Pip and Ravi. We can’t wait to see who will complete the cast. Production is set to begin later this year and will stream on BBC Three and BBC iPlayer on its release.

0 comments

Комментарии


bottom of page